It can’t get weirder than this!

Okay, so I have a Dell XPS 15 – L502X running Ubuntu 12.04. Lately, I started to face problems with the integrated webcam. Applications such as Skype, Cheese or even google chat would give me a black screen even when LED light was flashing. Usually, the fix, that worked for me, was to boot into WIndows 7, start any webcam application there, which by the  way would work, and then reboot back into Ubuntu and then webcam would start to work. But, last night even this didn’t work. So, I started looking for a solution online and finally, I found one which was to flash a light source in front of the camera. The solution as weird as it sounds, actually worked for me!

~Later~
Sugandh

Leave a Reply

