7 Beautiful Icon Themes For Your Linux Desktop

Icons can really change the whole look and feel of your desktop, especially, if you are using an application like Docky. Here are my 7 current favourite icon themes:

Nitrux 

Nitrux is a very elegant, flat icon theme. When looking for Nitrux icon set on the Internet, I found three PPA’s:

First is by the original creator which contains nitrux and nitrux buttons icon sets.

screenshot of my desktop with nitrux icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux icons

nitrux icons

Click to zoom:nitrux icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux buttons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux buttons

nitrux buttons icons

Click to zoom:nitrux buttons icons

To install it on Ubuntu/Ubuntu-based systems via PPA, simply type the following commands on the terminal:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:upubuntu-com/nitrux

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install nitruxos

Alternatively, you can download it from here ->  http://nitrux.weebly.com/uploads/1/9/8/8/19881405/nitrux.7z

Second is a spin-off that I found on www.omgubuntu.co.uk.

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux-umd  icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux-umd icons

nitrux-umd omgubuntu

Click to zoom:nitrux-umd icons

To install it on Ubuntu/Ubuntu-based systems, type the following commands:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:kokoto-java/omgubuntu-stuff

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install nitrux-umd

Third one actually contains two sets that I found on www.noobslab.com. The first set of which is known by nitrux-icons2.

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux2 icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux2 icons

nitrux 2 noobslab

Click to zoom:nitrux2 icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux buttons 2 icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux buttons 2 icons

nitrux 2 buttons noobslab

Click to zoom:nitrux buttons 2 icons

For installing the first set type the following:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:noobslab/nitrux-os

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install nitrux-icons2

And the second set is called as nitrux-icons.  In this set, you get 7 different flavours. All of them are spectacular. My favourite one from this set is Nitrux Azure and this is what I have been using since the past one month.

nitrux noobslab

Click to zoom:nitrux icons

nitrux buttons noobslab

Click to zoom:nitrux buttons icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux azure icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux azure icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux clear all icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux clear all icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux color icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux color icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux dark icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux dark icons

Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux mint icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nitrux mint icons

For installing the second set, type:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:noobslab/nitrux-os
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install nitrux-icons

When I tried installing this theme with nitruxos theme, the package manager gave me an error. So, just make sure that you don’t have nitruxos theme installed, from the package manager, before installing this one.

Aw0ken 

Aw0ken icon theme is also a very clean looking theme. You get it in three flavours viz. awoken, awoken-white and awoken dark. But that’s not all, awoken theme also has a customization tool to let you tweak it according to your liking.

awoken desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with awoken icons

awoken

Click to zoom:awoken icons

awoken white desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with awoken white icons

awoken white

Click to zoom:awoken white icons

awoken dark desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with awoken dark icons

awoken dark

Click to zoom:awoken dark icons

awoken customization tool

Click to zoom:awoken customization tool

To install on Ubuntu/Ubuntu-based systems, type:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:alecive/antigone
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install awoken-icon-theme
awoken-icon-theme-customization

Alternatively, you can download it from Aw0ken creator’s dropbox account -> http://www.deviantart.com/users/outgoing?https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8029324/AwOken-2.5.zip

Any Color You Like

AnyColorYouLike is another simple, minimal theme. This theme also has a customization tool that let’s select the color and shapes of the icons. But, I find awoken a bit more flexible than this.

acyl desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with acyl icons

acyl

Click to zoom:acyl icons

acyl customization tool

Click to zoom:acyl customization tool

You can download it from here -> http://www.deviantart.com/download/175624910/any_color_you_like_by_pobtott-d2wk91q.zip?token=d954e5ffba22da13b5f7f4847acaf4e3707ba607&ts=1377775150

Faenza

Faenza is another theme that I really like. Although it looks simple but it is very elegant.

faenza desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with faenza icons

faenza

Click to zoom:faenza icons

You can download Faenza icon theme from here -> https://code.google.com/p/faenza-icon-theme/downloads/list

Faience

Faience icon theme is a product of the same person who created Faenza. It is heavily dependent on Faenza and I like to think of it as a more refined and polished version of Faenza.

faience desktop

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with faience icons

faience

Click to zoom:faience icons

To install it on Ubuntu/Ubuntu-based systems, type the following in a terminal:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:tiheum/equinox
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install faience-icon-theme

Alternatively, you can get it from here -> http://faience-theme.googlecode.com/files/faience-icon-theme_0.5.zip

NouveGnomeGray

NouveGnomeGrey icon theme is also a minimal theme that looks very neat. It isn’t complete yet but it does look very promising.

Screenshot of my desktop with nouvegnomegray icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with nouvegnomegray icons

nouvegnomegray icons

Click to zoom:nouvegnomegray icons

You can download it from here -> http://www.deviantart.com/download/300365158/nouvegnomegray_by_tsujan-d4ytv8m.7z?token=2666879ba2a3b774020d1e83c73eba64a413a97f&ts=1377775861

Trevilla

Trevilla theme is a metro looking theme that will remind you of windows 8. I think some icons are yet to be added.

Screenshot of my desktop with treville icons

Click to zoom:Screenshot of my desktop with treville icons

treville icons

Click to zoom:treville icons

You can download it from here -> http://home.teletu.it/trevilla/tar/TilesIcons.tar.gz

Later

~Sugandh~

One thought on “7 Beautiful Icon Themes For Your Linux Desktop

  1. Pingback: How to install icon themes | insideLOSS

Leave a Reply

